

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the Institution of Engineers (India), Meghalaya State Centre held on 27 August 2010 at Shillong Club

Agenda:-

- **A- Hony Secy Report**
- B Placing of audited account by the Hony Secy
- **C Appointment of Centre Auditor**
- D Election of E C Members for 2010-11 & 2011-12 & declaration of results by Chairman
- E Vote of thanks
- I Brief Report by Hony. Secretary, Meghalaya State Centre

The Institution of Engineers (India) is the first professional body of India, incorporated in the Royal Charter of England in 1935 with the aim to promote Art, science and practice of the myriad fields of

Engineering and Technology. From a humble beginning in 1920, it is today a multi-disciplinary and nation-wide Organization with international status and bilateral relations with sister societies around

the world.

The Shillong Sub-Centre of the IE (I) was established sometimes in the mid of 1966 after the Assam State Centre was shifted to Guwahati. Till then this was the State Centre of Assam. In the year 1985, the Shillong Sub-Centre was renamed as Shillong Local Centre. The construction of the present building of the Institution of Engineers (India) was completed and the Institution started functioning from 1975. Since then, the Institution has grown in myriad ways and the membership strength has risen from mere fifty members to Two hundred sixty nine as on 31/3/2010. The present building is on lease from the Govt. of Meghalaya which is valid till the year 2016. This Committee took a major initiative with whatever sources available to construct the additional multi-storied RCC state of the art building adjacent to the existing building. The work is good progress with the support of our esteemed members and well wishers and if this support continues, the building is expected to be completed by 2010. The major objective of construction of new building is to generate financial resources to make this Centre self sustainable. As of now, this Centre is surviving with a meager grant of about Rs.40,000.00 per annum

Over the years, this Centre has conducted many paper meetings, workshops, technical sessions,

seminars both local and national. During the tenure of this committee occasions like World

Environment Day, Water Resource Day, Energy Conservation Day and World Telecom Day apart

from out Engineers' day were celebrated. The members had the opportunity to attend Seminars

outside the State. The Executive Committee also visited the IEI (HQ), at Kolkata and had discussions

with the SDG, IEI (I) regarding issues concerning this Centre and also for extending financial

assistance for construction of the new building. The Centre received a positive response from the HQ.

This General Body decided to hold the next council meeting in Shillong sometime in September 2011

for

which Hony Secretary is authorized to send request letter to SDG for placing our proposal in the

council

meeting and intimating its approval.

The audited accounts was read out by Hony Secy and passed by the house. The auditing charge for the

chartered accountant is fixed at Rs.2,500/- and Shri. R. Pal the present Chartered Accounted has been

appointed for the next sessions also.

The election of the Executive Committee of Meghalaya State Centre was conducted and the list of

members so elected are appended as Annexure-A.

Total 128 members attended the annual general meeting

The meeting ended with vote of thanks to the chair.

Hony. Secretary.



Organising Committee Members of the Institution of Engineers (India), Shillong Local Centre for the Session 2008-09 & 2009-10

Sl. No.	Name & Membership No.	Post Elected	Contact Phone No.	Division	Remarks
1.	W. Mawroh – F/110050/1	Chairman	09863007586	EL	
2.	J.B. Poon – F/014425/4	Past Chairman	09436104446	EL	Chairman EL Division
3.	K. Marbaniang – F/109659/8	Im Past Chairman	09436111104	Mc	Chairman MC Division
4.	M. Marbaniang – M/110747/7	Hony. Secy	09436110759	EL	
5.	F.E. Kharshiing – 115944/5	Past Hony. Secy.	09863066960	EL	
6.	Benedict Kharmalki – AM/072248/3	Member	09856708138	AG	
7.	Anil Kumar Sahu – M/105977/1	Member		AR	
8.	Timothy Dkhar – M/122324/5	Member	09436104820	СР	
9.	L.S. Tariang – F/111463/4	Member	09436160872	CV	
10.	Milton Kumar Sahi – F/132302/5	Member	09436706564	CV	
11.	Arun Biswa – AM/085122/4	Member	09862123024	CV	
12.	Rajib Sutradhar – M/061185/3	Member	09436302714	EL	
13.	Rupert War – AM/087025/3	Member	09436103088	EL	
14.	Purna Chetri – M/133739/9	Member		ET	
15.	A.M. Kyndiah – F/110051/5	Member	09436102536	MC	
16.	W.L. Diengdoh – F/113186/5	Member	09436731284	MC	
17.	B.J. Gogoi – M/047763/4	Member		MR	
18.	Onietto Riang – M/135668/7	Member	09436303531	PR	